Community Honors 12 Educators With Crystal Apples

(Salem, Oregon) – Twelve local educators were honored with a 2010 Crystal Apple Award Thursday night during Salem-Keizer’s annual gala celebration of education excellence.

The recipients, including teachers at all levels, instructional assistants, a principal, and a district maintenance employee, were chosen from a list of 49 nominees, and honored before a full house at Salem’s historic Elsinore Theater.

This was the 14th annual Crystal Apple Awards ceremony. The event recognizes local educators who provide students with educational options, go beyond their regular job duties to benefit students, and demonstrate best practices. Nominations come from community members, students and parents.

“Everyone should be proud of the outstanding educators we have in our community,” said Brent Neilsen, President of the Salem-Keizer Education Foundation. “Everyday these honorees bring their very best to their jobs, going above and beyond to provide our kids the kind of education they need to face today’s, and tomorrow’s, challenges.”

The Crystal Apples were handed out by Neilsen, Salem-Keizer Schools Assistant Superintendent, Salam Noor, Joe Egli, President of the Keizer Chamber of Commerce, and Michael Avent with Chase Bank.

The event again showcased the Western Oregon University Crystal Apple Award Scholarship. This year’s recipient is Avi Hernandez, a 2010 graduate of North Salem High School. He is attending Western to study education. The scholarship was presented to Hernandez by Stacie Creighton, a teacher at North Salem and 2009 Crystal Apple honoree.

Funded by College of Education donors, the scholarship awards $1,200 to a qualified Salem-Keizer graduate preparing to enter the teaching profession.

Tom Hewitt, Judson Middle School drama teacher and local actor and comedian, again served as emcee for the event. Arriving nominees were treated to a red carpet walk broadcast live inside the theater.

In 1996, Salem Chamber business representatives teamed with local educators to begin the Crystal Apples as a way to encourage and recognize education excellence in Salem-Keizer schools.

Presented by the Salem–Keizer Education Foundation in collaboration with the Salem-Keizer School District and the Keizer Chamber of Commerce, the Awards celebrate and recognize those teachers, administrators and support staff who exceed all expectations of their profession and who engage community in their work. Since its inception, the Crystal Apple Awards has been replicated in communities throughout the United States.

Crystal Apple Awards
14th Annual
Crystal Apple Awards

Shannon Bateman
LRC Teacher
Bush Elementary School
Don Berger
English Teacher
North Salem High School
Dana Costa
Library/Media Teacher
Lee Elementary School
Ryan Hari
Math Teacher
Parrish Middle School
Mike Lampert
Science Teacher
West Salem High School
John Mandeville
Facilities and Maintenance Dept.
John Mangan
German Teacher
McNary High School
Michele Nowlin
Kindergarten Teacher
Gubser Middle School
Jody Orcutt
Special Education Assistant
Highland Elementary School
Lara Tiffin
Judson Middle School
Frances Woitte
Special Education
Highland Elementary School
Cheryl Yoder
Instructional Assistant
Parrish Middle School

News Release by the Salem-Keizer Education Foundation

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.